2nd WASBE Composition Contest

Finalist works now available

The 2nd International WASBE Composition Contest was a great success. Under the leadership of WASBE president Dario Sotelo (President from 2017-2019) we have received many outstanding compositions from around the world. At the WASBE Conference in Buñol, Spain, the WASBE Board of Directors carefully selected the winning pieces:

Category 1 (Grade 2-3):
1st: “The Brave Tin Soldier” by David Postiguillo Moscardó (Spain) | SCORE


2nd: “Sunbeam Dances” by Michael Miller (USA) | published by Murphy Music

3rd: “DNA” by Giuseppe Calvino (Italy) | SCORE


Category 2 (Grade 4-5):
1st: “Lux Futura” by Kevin Houben (Belgium) | SCORE


2nd: “L’Orizzonte degli Eventi” by Girolamo Deraco (Italy) | SCORE


3rd: “Aquila non capit muscas” by Maxime Aulio (France) | published by HaFaBra Music

Category 3 (Orchestral Winds):
1st: “I Long for the Furthest Star” by Fredrik Ekenvi (Sweden) | SCORE


2nd: “Waterplace Park” by Gregory Fritze (USA) | SCORE


3rd: “Lamento d‘introduction et Scène de prière” by Yunosuke Okamura (Japan) | SCORE


Category 4 (Solo & Winds):
1st: “Diversions” (Clarinet) by Robert Spittal (USA) | SCORE


2nd: “Euphonium Concerto” (Euphonium) by Alexandre Carlin (France) | published by Murphy Music

3rd: “Inner Resoution” (Trumpet) by Jason Wyse (USA) | SCORE


The primary goal of the WASBE Composition contest is to promote these winning pieces with performances around the world. WASBE members have privileged access to a complete set of the winning pieces until September 2020. Cost of each work (score and parts) is only 30 USD.

Click here to access the Members Only site to Order these works

1st Composition Contest

WASBE wants to thank all composers who have submitted their music for the composition contest. The finalists were:

in the category COMMUNITY:
PERSHING (Gregory Fritze/USA)
MULAN FANTASIE (Hung Ping Chang/Taiwan)
AFRICAN HARMONY (Johan de Meij/The Netherlands)

In the category EDUCATIONAL:
FOLKSONG OF MIDU (Ling Chang/China)
WOLF TEARS (Nelson Jesus/Portugal)
SUITE DE VALE (Renato Foulart/Brazil)

The final pieces have been performed on Wednesday, July 19 2017 during the WASBE Conference in Utrecht (The Netherlands). Thank you to the Orchestra of the Dutch Customs with their conductor Björn Bus.

The WINNERS are:

PERSHING (Gregory Fritze/USA)


WOLF TEARS (Nelson Jesus/Portugal)

Become a Member Today

Members receive a host of benefits by joining the WASBE community, including:

  • Exclusive Access to the Member Directory

  • Electronic Magazine and Journal Editions

You Make it Possible!

WASBE is a non-profit organization. Our events and service are only possible with the support of donations and volunteers