About wasbe

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far wasbe has created 44 blog entries.

1999 WASBE conference


1999 WASBE conference All information can be found on the official Program Book of the 1999 WASBE Conference San Luis Obispo Download program book of WASBE San Luis Obispo 1999

1999 WASBE conference2018-02-21T16:45:49+02:00

1997 WASBE conference


1997 WASBE conference High mountains of Steiermark, Austria at the Schladming conference in 1997. Trumpet made by Yamaha shown at the Schladming conference in 1997. 1. Säo Paolo State Symphonic Band (Brazil), Roberto Farias, conductor 2. Alfred Reed conducting Senzoku Gakuen Symphonic Wind Orchestra (Japan) 3. Östgöta Wind Symphony (Sweden), Arie van Beek, Conductor 4. Uli Müller-Adam (Tenor) and Marianne Halder (Soprano) with Stadtorchester Friedrichshaven (Germany), Motti Miron, Conductor 5. Carsten Svanberg, Trombone soloist, Danish Concert Band, Jorgen Misser Jensen, Conductor 6. Soloists from the Royal Air Force Band Oman with the Pannonisches Blasorchester (Austria), Peter [...]

1997 WASBE conference2018-02-21T16:46:42+02:00

1991 WASBE conference


1991 WASBE conference The Fifth WASBE Conference, 1991, was held in conjunction with the Tenth Conference of the British Association of Symphonic Bands and Wind Ensembles at the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester, England. The conference was headed up by President Vondis Miller (Canada) with Timothy Reynish, Conductor of the Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra (UK), serving as the Conference Chairperson. An extensive program of concerts, clinics and seminars was provided for participants from over 40 countries. Some of the composers featured during the conference were Ball, Bennett, Gregson, Harper, Hollaway, Horowitz, Hultquist, [...]

1991 WASBE conference2018-02-21T16:48:56+02:00

1989 WASBE conference


1989 WASBE conference The Fourth WASBE conference, 1989, was held in Kerkrade, The Netherlands, in conjunction with the World Music Contest. Under the presidency of Jan Molenaar (The Netherlands) and Chairman Jan Willem ten Brocke (The Netherlands), the conference featured fifteen bands from many parts of the world including the Tokyo Kosei Wind Orchestra, the American Waterways Wind Orchestra, the Stockholm Symphonic Wind Orchestra, and the Netherlands Senior Wind Orchestra. Sessions included “An International Tariff Comparison on Performing Rights,” “Early American Wind and Ceremonial Music, 1636-1836,” and “International Literature for Wind Band.” BUMA (performing rights society) [...]

1989 WASBE conference2018-02-21T16:50:03+02:00

1987 WASBE conference


1987 WASBE conference The 1987 WASBE conference in Boston, USA, headed up by President John P. Paynter (USA), Conference Chairperson Lee Chrisman (USA) and Program Chairperson Frank Battisti (USA), featured ensembles from Norway, The Netherlands, Japan, Switzerland, Israel and the United States. Also included was a composition project chaired by Dennis Johnson (USA). Other events included “Forums” led by WASBE Secretary Vondis Miller (Canada), “Panels” for composers, conductors and publishers. Frank Battisti (USA) was named Honorary Life Member.

1987 WASBE conference2018-02-21T16:51:44+02:00

1985 WASBE conference


1985 WASBE conference In 1985, the Second WASBE International Conference was hosted by President Francis Pieters (Belgium) and Secretary-Treasurer Jose Couckuyt (Belgium) in Kortrijk, Belgium. Members from over thirty nations attended. Groups from Great Britain, Japan, Spain, Belgium, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, France and the United States performed. Egil Gundersen (Norway) was appointed Treasurer-Historian (a position he held until 2005). Vondis Miller (Canada) was appointed Secretary

1985 WASBE conference2018-02-21T16:54:16+02:00

1983 WASBE conference


1983 WASBE conference The First WASBE International Conference was held in 1983 in Skien, Norway and was a great success. The conference featured eight lectures and clinics by distinguished colleagues from Europe and the United States. Performing at the conference were groups from The Netherlands, Switzerland, Belgium, France, Iceland, Hungary, Norway, Sweden, Israel, and the United States.

1983 WASBE conference2018-02-21T17:04:25+02:00